The Genius of God in Creating the Sexes

Today I found myself astounded in the way God has created the two sexes.  I don’t get these insights every day.  I just remember thinking… wow, I’ve been taking these little things for granted.  Why not just one sex?  God has designed us in such a way that we need each other.  Why not more than two?  God didn’t want factions.  He wanted men and women together.  Not rock, paper, scissors in a perpetual war.

Men and women fit together.  They complement each other.  Heck, they’re even shaped for each other.

I am simply blown away at how the sexes’ forms, temperaments, interests, and functions harmonize with one another.  Like a violin playing a chord.  Or, under a certain light, the Christ and His bride the Church.

The Lord made creation good.  And at its climax in the making of man and woman, the Lord called  it “very good” (Gen 1:31).  He really is a genius!

What, dear reader, has God done that left you suddenly and without warning surprised?

4 Responses to “The Genius of God in Creating the Sexes”

  1. David Hibbard Says:

    Hey Alex! I know what you mean… I’ve been in college taking a lot of biblical classes and am astounded every week with some new facet of God that He revealed to me. He makes everyday new and every new day an adventure!

    • I am happy to hear that you’ve been pursuing the work of God through education. Overjoyed, in fact. And thanks for posting on my blog!

  2. I think, in the creation of the sexes, there remains embedded a far deeper mystery than is immediately apparent — something integral to how it all plays out in the end.

    When I was a very young, idealistic, impressionistic, pious, church-going girl, I used to believe that the entire universe benefited from the act of lovemaking between a husband and a wife.

    I am now a more mature, disillusioned, road-weary woman disabused of many childish notions.

    I still believe in that one, though.

    Lovely post, good sir.

Leave a Reply

