Half-handed Cloud

Half-handed Cloud is the name for the “economically complex, avant garde Christian pop” musical act led by John Ringhofer.  It’s also my current musical fixation.

I want to meet John.  I have complained that most “Christian” music is lame because it is.  But Half-handed Cloud is strange and beautiful in its own very unique way.  I’ve never heard songs before about circumcision or cutting off toes, but even if I had I wouldn’t suppose they would be anywhere as funny.  Or anywhere as catchy.

Half-handed Cloud takes a bit of Psalms, a bit of Old Testament narratives, prophecies and runs it through a Play-Doh machine.

Half-handed Cloud is also keenly aware that it that doesn’t need to be any bigger than it has to be.  Most of the songs are only a minute long or two.  And it just works.

John’s a man who is very sure that he is what he is by the grace of God (1 Cor 15:10) .  He has no use for being anything other than that.

http://www.myspace.com/handycloud

If you’d like to listen to more Half-handed Cloud, you can hear it like I do through Spotify.  Which is free if you don’t mind the occasional ad.

3 Responses to “Half-handed Cloud”

  1. ‘it that doesn’t need to be any bigger than it has to be.’

    Enough is as good as a feast.

  2. I know what you mean about Christian music. No matter what people call it, it’s usually watered down, and I listen to intense music for a reason. There’s still a time to listen to it though, like when I’m trying to simmer down for devotionals or something like that.

    Thanks for the heads-up on Half-handed Cloud. Will definitely try to give them a listen.

    • Thanks for the comment Misha, I’m glad to know I’m in like company. I do like my old hymns and some modern worship songs. “You’re Beautiful” is probably my favorite of the newer selections.

Leave a Reply

