A Kingdom Beyond All Comparison

“So we do not lose heart. Though our outer self  is wasting away, our inner self is being renewed day by day. 17 For this light momentary affliction is preparing for us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison, 18  as we look not to the things that are seen but to the things that are unseen. For the things that are seen are transient, but the things that are unseen are eternal.” ~ 2 Cor 4:16-18

Everything that is in your life is for your benefit.  It is preparing you for glory.  You will stand in the literal presence of Jesus Christ and be astounded at His magnificence.  Right now, we have a sure hope in Him that is proven by the present regeneration of our souls and the whispering of the Holy Spirit into our hearts.  But it will be dim compared to what is coming.

I want to know when that exactly is, but I also know that God is doing a good work in me by not letting me know.  What I find hard in my life is simply, according to the above verse, a “light momentary affliction.”  This life is the turning of the title page into the grand storybook of God, for I, and we, have not even reached the table of contents.  Even the greatest of angst and pain that I currently feel will utterly vanish at the “eternal weight of glory.”

If I’m honest, things aren’t going so well right now.  I want to love unconditionally but I keep on holding back.  And in those rare moments where I do give of myself, sometimes I am betrayed in that trust.  God is always there, but He feels dim and distant.  It’s almost enough to make me give up.  Almost.

But I should not lose hope.  Life right now is a pinhole compared to the ultimate longing of my heart.  So I must love the pinhole while I have it because by it I am being renewed day by day.   Pray.  Read the Bible.  Pray.  Read the Bible.  Stay in good fellowship with other believers.  Pray.  Read the Bible.  This is the pinhole of which I, and we, have that is about to be torn wide open.

2 Responses to “A Kingdom Beyond All Comparison”

  1. ‘Though our outer self is wasting away, our inner self is being renewed day by day.’

    From my original manuscript: ‘A field of sacred grain lying in expectation, purposed for a single instant in time— a momentary bloom that fails again, but persists in threading its fragrance through remembrance and through the understanding that though outwardly we are wasting away, inwardly we are being renewed, day by day.’

    ‘If I’m honest, things aren’t going so well right now.’

    In a bible study, years ago, a member of the group quoted, ‘He who has begun a good work in you will complete it until the day of Christ Jesus.’

    Then he went on to tell me that though there are definite dips and valleys in the process, the general trend is uncompromisingly upward. He encouraged me to look at my story like a graph and to see the troughs as very small segments of the entire, positive picture.

    I’m sure you know all of this, but the graph visual has always stuck with me and I figured I’d share.

    • Love the graph visual. Even if by the grace of God we’re crawling at a snail’s pace, we’re still moving forward.

Leave a Reply

