All Things Through Him

I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need.  I can do all things through him who strengthens me. ” ~ Phil 4:12-13

God’s sovereignty is a wonderful, awe-inspiring thing.  Our reaction to this truth will begin at realizing how big He is and will continue on through the rest of our lives the as we cling to the revealed implications of His ultimate power and authority.

This above verse is a lovely one and is often cut down to just v. 13 because the previous verse describes a sort of faith where God is so delightful that physical circumstances don’t matter anymore.  And that’s scandalous these days.  We want a life that is happy, pain free, and never lacking in anything.

How truly privileged am I as an American to have never gone more than twelve hours without food or shelter.  I really am.  Because God has put me here, I often assume that when things get uncomfortable that means God doesn’t love me anymore.  But that’s ridiculous.

The spreading forth of the Gospel from Jesus’ mouth to the fringes of the world will be met with pain, isolation, hunger, shame, and all sorts of evil alongside blessings of abundance, joy, and revival.  We live in a fallen world that is hostile towards our perfectly holy and good God.  That’s a fact that we can’t change, so the state of matters will always be a mixed bag until we pass on into eternity.

So slow down and realize the role of God in your life.  He is not mindlessly watching everything, He’s in control!  Like Paul says, we can do all things through Him.  I’m getting to the point where I’m cutting out “difficult” and “easy” from my vocabulary.  They have some use in talking of perceived probability, but not in light of Scripture.  It is either impossible or possible.  If God is behind it, why should we ever fail?  Consider Romans 11:36, which nicely compliments the above verse:

“For from him and through him and to him are all things. To him be glory forever. Amen.”

Amen, indeed.  Find me a coffee cup with that sucker stamped on it!

One Response to “All Things Through Him”

  1. ‘How truly privileged am I as an American to have never gone more than twelve hours without food or shelter.’

    I think about this a lot. Whenever I do, I give thanks to Him because I know that it’s not a given — even though it effectually has been my entire life …

Leave a Reply

