In Christ We Have Peace

“I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.”

John 16:33

 

 

At the moment humanity turned their backs on God Christ’s coming was promised (Gen 3:15), but it was wrongly assumed by many that He would come as a conquering king to turn Israel into a superpower.  And even today we are frequently just as confused.  For myself, I would say that the biggest lie about Jesus that creeps into my heart is that He has not overcome the world.

All believers do not count the world as home.  We are merely stopping by.  Is it a hard place?  Yes it is, but it’s also the closest that we will ever get to Hell.  Have I ever shed bled for the Gospel?  No and I don’t personally know anyone who has had that honor.

It would seem that the most important thing to me is that people would think well of me.  Which is silly.  God overcame the cross and revealed the innermost things of the universe – His own heart.  He loves us and is willing to die for us.

God is absolutely infuriated by sin and poured out His wrath, that would be laid on the Church, onto His only Son.  Obviously He loves me.  And I type that far too quickly without really drinking it in.

God loves me.  He gave everything for me.  If you don’t belong to Him you can.  He has made a way and it is in the person of Jesus Christ.  God has revealed Himself to the world through His Son.

We have no reason to fear anything.  If there is something that is keeping you from a more single sense of intimacy with the Father, realize that God has overcome that obstacle in the work of His Son.  He loves you.  Never forget this.  In Him, not in ourselves or in any other thing, we have peace.

2 Responses to “In Christ We Have Peace”

  1. ‘It would seem that the most important thing to me is that people would think well of me. Which is silly. God overcame the cross and revealed the innermost things of the universe – His own heart.’

    Nicely done, Alex.

Leave a Reply

