Giving Thanks

I started Catching Fire and blazed through about 3/4 of it in two days.  Yes it’s fun, but it’s not ready for a review today.  By Monday it will be finished and my review will be posted. This is, of course, if the Lord wills.

So I was not entirely sure what I’d writing this Friday.  I picked a random Bible verse through here, and upon closer inspection realized that the chosen verse was not truly random but picked from a preselected list.  I remember thinking, “What if we got something very difficult out of the Levitical law?”  Well, I didn’t.  Let’s just go with what was almost randomly selected.

Psalm 107:1

Oh give thanks to the Lord, for he is good,
for his steadfast love endures forever!

This verse consists of a command and two qualifications that under-gird that command’s legitimacy.  We are not told to give thanks so that we might earn God’s favor, we are told this because of the pefection of His character.  We are told that God is good.  Chew on that.  God’s actions cannot be separated from His perfect character.  Whatever God does, He is good.  I would encourage you, reader, slow down with that statement.

I hear myself saying “He is good” and I can only begin to understand the verse.  It is simple, but also perfectly complex.  Whatever you’re going through in your life, be it preferable or horrific, God is good.  My words are pitifully inadequate.  God is good.

As I look back to my dark days and to the better ones, I am brought to tears at the recognition of His goodness.  I should never forget His goodness.  If I trust that He is good, I have hope.  If I question that goodness, I am lost.  Please reader, I know I would prefer to use big flowery words but I simply cannot.  God is good.

The verse goes on with a second qualification for this command.  We are to give thanks “for his steadfast love endures forever.”  God’s love is perfect.  It’s an enduring work that does not rust, corrode, or rot. We are promised in Paul’s letter to the Philippians (1:6):

“And I am sure of this, that he who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ”

God’s love endures.  It does.  If you belong to Him, He will not lose you.  Reader, if you belong to Him through Christ, don’t let anyone tell you that God might one day wring His hands of you in dissatisfaction.  They would be lying to you.  They do not believe that God’s love endures.  If you build your life on the enduring rock of Christ, you will not be swept away.  In passing away, you have a home with Him.

And if you do not belong to Him, then you will be cast off.  Your life, as happy as it might be right now, will not endure forever.  This may be the closest you will ever get to God’s goodness and when your time is up, you will not have a hope.  I don’t say this because I hate you, but because I love you.  If I did not tell you about His goodness in salvation, then I would be keeping you from mercy.

If you reader do belong to Him and yet feel something missing in your walk with the Lord, do as He tells His children to do.  Give thanks.  Whatever you have, good or bad, give thanks.  For He is a good God and He loves you.  He has loved you and chosen you in adoption before you were born.  We see this in Eph 1:4-5:

“even as he chose us in him before the foundation of the world, that we should be holy and blameless before him. In love  he predestined us for adoption as sons through Jesus Christ, according to the purpose of his will,”

He loves you.  Don’t go by a moment without preaching this to yourself.  God loves you.  He is good.  His steadfast love endures forever.

Leave a Reply

