Omniscience

It was just tonight that I was religiously (as in a man-centered “look at me” checklist) finishing up my study of the Scriptures.  I thought, “Let’s finish on this Proverb for my reading plan, glance at it so I know I can say I did it, and then enjoy the rest of the evening.”  God smacked me.  He knew my heart was not in it and told me directly.  Look at this verse I was scheduled to read:

Proverbs 15:11

“Sheol and Abaddon lie open before the Lord; how much more the hearts of the children of man!”

The verse states that since the shifting patterns of the spiritual world (which are completely invisible to us) are perfectly seen and understood by God, then logically so should that of the material world (notably our hearts).

Suppose if I were to have my entire life recorded and broadcast to the world.  All my blunders and failures and all my tiny (and not so tiny) successes would be seen by everyone.  If this was the case, my behavior would change.  I would want to treat people more fairly and listen to them as opposed to speaking over them.  I would want to take fantastic care of my physical figure.  I would be more giving of my money and not spend it on impulse purchases.

But this verse takes it even farther in that:

1.  It’s not just our actions that are known, but that our hearts behind those actions are known.

2. The audience is perfectly holy.

So all the above good deeds are still good, but they can’t matter a lick if they are done with the wrong heart.  Furthermore, we can never be arrogant because our audience has never done evil and has always done good all the time to an infinite degree.

How humbling is this?  How big does this make God?  Why should I suppose to turn out the lights so I can sin?  It does not matter.  Why should I feel comfortable to hate another within the confines of my own mind?  Truly, there are no privates areas of my life.  Should I react to this horror and say, “Well, let’s not make God out to be frightening”?  I would be a fool to do so.  I need God to see me all the time.

 

Let’s consider this in the light of other Scripture:

1.  When I do good, it’s because God prepared it all beforehand and ignited it with the spark of the Gospel.  Do I have any reason to boast?  No, my boasting is in God alone.

Eph 2:10

10 For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them.

 

2. When I stumble, I have been forgiven by the ultimate authority who always sees my sin in the righteous light of Christ.  This is a perfect authority and a perfect sacrifice.

Romans 3:21-22

21 But now the righteousness of God has been manifested apart from the law, although the Law and the Prophets bear witness to it— 22 the righteousness of God through faith in Jesus Christ for all who believe.

 

3. If my life was really dependent upon fooling mere humans with my actions into thinking I was worth something, would my life really have any meaning?  But if God always sees me, this transforms my world.   I do not want to be left alone to hide in my sin, I need a God who sees it and loves me anyway by embracing the cross with joy.

Hebrews 12:1-2

Therefore, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us also lay aside every weight, and sin which clings so closely, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, looking to Jesus, the founder and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is seated at the right hand of the throne of God.

 

 

I need a God that big.  Nothing less will suffice.

2 Responses to “Omniscience”

  1. Just sighed big before I started typing this. The greatest comfort, for me, in my abiding relationship with Christ is that there is never a turning out of the lights but there is nothing I think, do or feel that takes Him by surprise. He knows I am but dust! It is this unconditional foundation which spurs me, as my mother is fond of saying, from glory to glory.

    My husband is Christ-like in this way toward me. His forgiving, gentle lead without ever, EVER, badgering or bullying me after ten years of marriage (next week) has been for me a living reflection of the Christ I worship. It inspires and motivates not my obedience, but my wholehearted surrender. If that makes sense.

    • Suze, I am overjoyed to hear that God has blessed you with a vibrant, Christ-centered marriage. Congratulations on ten wonderful years and many, many more to come.

Leave a Reply

