G is for Gungor

I am often woefully unimpressed by the creativity employed by many (if not most) Christian worship artists.  My theory is that because the essence of worship is fundamentally wrapped around its lyrics, sometimes the instrumental parts receive less attention.  Gungor might be the strongest exception to this trend.

It is not my idea to diminish the efforts of other artists or say they are not worshiping God.  My main point is that the sound of many worship artists have a tendency to blend together and Gungor sticks out like a severed thumb.  Make no mistake how many times it says in Scripture to “sing to the Lord a new song.”

Gungor sounds best in live recordings. Their studio albums are far from terrible. However, they lack the distinct punch of their organic sound.

What makes the group so impressive is that they are earnestly seeking the Lord’s glory. The fact that they can play well and in various styles is simply the natural effect of their motivation.

It’s my prayer that the God honoring creativity of Gungor’s latest two albums will continue on and prompt other worship artists to redefine the genre’s commonly understood boundaries. One thing I know for sure:

Whatever the Lord pleases, he does,
in heaven and on earth,
in the seas and all deeps.

Psalm 135:6 (ESV)

3 Responses to “G is for Gungor”

  1. Fresh from my desk... Says:

    Hi~
    I’m working my way around the A to Z lists and thought I’d drop by. Nice piece on the music – never thought about the lack of focus on the instrumentals. But I sure am now =)
    Warmly,
    Laura
    BTW – the Dungeons and Dragons piece brought back some memories – more like an “era” than just a game.

  2. Arlee Bird Says:

    I don’t keep up with Christian music like I used to. I’ve enjoyed much of what many of the artists do, but I can see what you’re saying. I’ve never heard of Gungor but thanks for introducing them.

    I’ve been posting about Christian music on one of my blogs as well.

    Lee
    A Few Words
    An A to Z Co-host blog

  3. Amen!

    Gungor is quickly becoming one of my favorites – their second album is not as familar to me, but when I hear it I think of the Holy Spirit as Holy Ghost – the aweful of awesome, you know?

    Their music drives me to worship, that’s for sure.

Leave a Reply

