A is for Alaska

I grew up in a family who did not travel much.  We really were like the Hobbits of the Shire, perfectly content not straying too far from home.  After I graduated college, I was given a chance to go to Alaska for about week.

This was, in short, a lovely place to be.  When you get out of the airport, you realize the air you’ve been breathing your whole life was as fresh as a guinea pig fart.  The Alaskan air is crisp and wholesome and has a gentle burn, almost like a whiskey, that greets your sinus passages.

This is what a lot of Alaska looks like.  While it is high and away from the things of man, it can remind you of a world without sin.  But keep in mind that in these woods, however beautiful they are, animals stalk and eat each other.  Earth is not Heaven.

While I am the sort of fellow who typically shuns the material world in favor of ideas, Alaska forces me to acknowledge that there is a place outside the realm of speech and mind.  As much as I love seeing character’s do things on page and on screen and much as I love talking about the limits and flavor of perception, I cannot deny that God has made the Earth and declared it good.

Fire clearly warns you that you can get hurt if you get too close, but ice is trickier.  Climbing on it is difficult and treacherous.  You can never really be sure that you have a good hold on your feet.  Then you fall on your rear and you realize that you are an easily fooled creature.  Sometimes a little humiliation is good for the soul.  Perhaps that’s the best thing about ice.

This man’s name is Jim Stocker.  He’s gone on to meet to the Lord.  I look forward to meeting him in person again.

5 Responses to “A is for Alaska”

  1. A foretaste of glory is the earth.

  2. Amen. You have the treasured distinction of being the first to comment on my blog. Thank you!

  3. You have no idea how much I appreciate this post! I’ve been trying to put my finger on why I want to go to Alaska so much and you’ve done it for me!

  4. Your photos are beautiful!

  5. The scenery you captured is wonderful!

Leave a Reply

